fielder going into dugout to make a play

FIELDER GOING INTO OUT-OF-PLAY AREA

Rule 5.09(a)(1) Comment: The Comment to Official Baseball Rule 5.09(a)(1) stipulates that no fielder may step into or go into a dugout to make a catch. However, if a fielder, after making a legal catch on the playing surface, steps or falls into any out-of-play area at any point while in possession of the ball,…

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.