first basemen's mitt

RulesMLB Umpire Manual

First Baseman’s Mitt

Rule 3.05: The first baseman is not permitted to use a first baseman’s mitt if, in the umpire’s judgment, another fielder is positioned at first base. If the umpire determines on his own or after being prompted by the opposing manager that the first baseman is not positioned at first base, the umpire should instruct…

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.