runner obstructed before getting to first base

BATTER-RUNNER OBSTRUCTED BEFORE REACHING FIRST BASE

Rule 6.01(h)(1): When the batter-runner is obstructed before reaching first base, it is not always the case that the batter-runner will be awarded first base on this type of obstruction. For example, if the batter-runner is obstructed before reaching first base on a fly ball or line drive that is caught, the batter-runner is out….

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.