thrown ball hits bat

THROWN BALL STRIKES HELMET OR BAT

Rule 5.09(a)(8): If a thrown ball strikes a helmet or bat accidentally (no intent on the part of the runner to interfere) in fair or foul territory, the ball remains in play the same as if it had not hit the helmet or bat. If, in the umpire’s judgment, there is intent on the part…

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.