two runners

RulesMLB Umpire Manual


Rule 5.06(a)(2): Under Official Baseball Rule 5.06(a)(2), if two runners are touching a base at the same time, the following runner is out when tagged (unless, of course, the lead runner is forced). It is suggested that the umpire clearly indicate by pointing which runner has been declared out in such situations. See Official Baseball…


5.06 (a) (7.01) Occupying the Base

(1) A runner acquires the right to an unoccupied base when he touches it before he is out. He is then entitled to it until he is put out, or forced to vacate it for another runner legally entitled to that base. Rule 5.06(a)/5.06 (c) Comment (Rule 7.01 Comment): If a runner legally acquires title to a base, and…

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.