June 8, 2021

Pitch Lands in Umpire’s Pocket

This could never happen, right?

Pitch Lands in Umpire’s Pocket



I swear I have seen the situation where a thrown or batted ball gets lodged in a player’s uniform in the “Big Book.” There is reference to a pitch getting lodged but I cannot find anything about a thrown or batted ball. I found the wording in the Umpire’s Manual. Would like help finding in the Rule Book.

John Hoppin

ANYTHING can happen on a ball field. Pitched ball, lodged and it is one base. Batted ball is time of pitch, two bases. Thrown ball lodged, two bases from time of throw. Right?


Yes, one base on lodged pitch.
However, I think for a lodged throw, the the runners are placed wherever the umpires think they would have ended up if the ball hadn’t lodged (although you can’t anticipate an out would have occurred).
For a batted ball, it depends what it lodges in. If a fair ball lodges in a fence, shrubbery, behind a tarp, etc. then it’s a ground-rule double. However, if it lodges in someone’s gear or uniform, it’s the same as a thrown ball: place the runners are wherever they would have ended up absent the lodging (although you can’t anticipate an out would have occurred).


I had a U12 game end on that call. Pitch took a weird bounce and got stuck inside the chest protector of the catcher. Tie game, bottom of the last inning, runner from third was awarded home, good night Irene.

Have a question or comment for one of our experts?

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.