Rule of the Week: When can a switch-hitter switch sides at the plate?
Last week we talked about switch-pitchers. This week, we’ll discuss a much more common phenomenon: the switch-hitter.
When can a switch-hitter switch sides at the plate?
Whenever he wants to! Unlike the pitcher, the batter can switch continuously from the left to the right side of the plate during the same at-bat. However, there is one exception: never during the pitcher’s windup. If the batter switches sides during the windup, he’s OUT.
However, unless the batter has a dual ear flap helmet, his indecision could be a problem!