Baltimore Orioles

Expert Analysis

6 Rules Questions Answered by Rich Marazzi

Topics: Expert Analysis, Rules Controversy, Runner Interference

Question #1 – Can Interference Be Unintentional  Q. In the April 30th, Jersey Shore BlueClaws (Phillies) vs Aberdeen IronBirds (Orioles) South Atlantic League game, the following play occurred. Should the batter have been called for interference? Aberdeen had Adley Rutschman on second, Coby Mayo on first with Jacob Teter at bat and less than two outs. Mick Abel was pitching for Jersey Shore…

Expert Analysis

Runner hit by batted ball…..is the runner always out?

Topics: Base Awards, Deflected Ball, Expert Analysis, Placing Runners, Runner Interference, Runners

When a runner is hit by a batted ball, he is not always out. Umpires must assess the situation and apply the proper rule. The most common form of this violation is when a runner is struck by a batted ball in front an infielder and impedes him from making a play.  The runner is…

Expert Analysis

Failing to Return to First Base

Topics: Base, Base Awards, Expert Analysis, Rules Controversy

The Orioles and A’s played in Oakland on April 21. In the top of the fourth inning Trey Mancini reached first base on an error. Once he got beyond first base, he collected himself, and turning his body toward second base he made a hop step. Walking back to the bag along the first-base line,…

Expert Analysis

Orioles Jackson Upends Yankees 2B Wade Legal Slide?

Topics: Fielding, Interference, Official Baseball Rules, Replay Review, Runner Interference, Runners, Video - Runner
This is a video post.
Expert Analysis

The New MLB Intentional Walk Rule

Topics: Blog, Manager, Pitcher, Rules Changes

The new MLB intentional walk rule has had little effect on the overall length of major league games. It was not a particularly bold move, but it does represent a changing of the mindset of those decision makers to speed up the pace of play. The estimated time shaving is around 35 seconds per game….

Expert Analysis

The Wackiest Triple Play Ever?

Topics: Fielding, Runners, Umpire

The Red Sox were the victims of a crazy triple play in Boston on May 2, 2017 when the Orioles turned three on a pop up to shallow left field. Once you have seen the play, you might come to your own conclusion as to whether the pop fly hit by Jackie Bradley, Jr. should…

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.