Chris Welsh

Expert Analysis

Batter is Hit by Pitch During Bunt Attempt

Topics: Batter, Hit By Pitch

  This much we know: When a batter attempts to hit a pitch, whether a full swing, check swing or bunt attempt, it is a strike. But what happens when that batter attempts to hit or bunt the pitch and is then struck by the pitch? Is the batter awarded first base? Can runners advance?…

Expert Analysis

Rule of the Week: Ball or Strike?

Topics: Blog, Rule of the Week

  Is it a ball or a strike? Only your umpire knows! A crazy strike three was recently called in a minor league game between the Hartford Yard Goats (Rockies) and Binghamton Rumble Ponies (Mets) when the pitcher, Cory Burns, stumbled during his delivery and the pitch rolled towards the first base line well away…

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.