is it legal to run backwards

Javier Baez Confuses Pirates When He Runs From 1B to Home

Rule 5.08 (a) says that no run can score when the batter-runner makes the third out before he touches first base, or if the inning ends in a force. The Pirates hosted the Cubs on Thursday afternoon. In the top of the third, Javier Baez was batting with Willson Contreras on second base and two…

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.