Kolten Wong

Expert Analysis

Runner Does Not Slide Heading to Second in Force Double Play Situation

Topics: Expert Analysis

Does a runner have to slide when going to second base to break up a force/double play? The answer is “No.”  Let’s look at the following play that occurred in the Pirates-Mariners game in Seattle on May 26, 2023. In the top of the fourth, the Bucs had Jack Suwinski on first base with one…

Expert Analysis

“That’s a Force!” Is Yadier Molina the Smartest Player on the Field?

Topics: Base, Catcher, double play, Fielding, force out, tag attempt, Umpire Manual Rules
This is a video post.

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.