pitch in dirt

Expert Analysis

Pitch in the Dirt – Lots of Things Can Happen

Topics: Batter, Hit By Pitch
This is a video post.
Expert Analysis

Can a batter hit a pitched ball that has bounced in the dirt?

Topics: Batted Ball, Batter, Latest News

If a pitcher bounces the ball in the dirt, can a batter hit the pitch legally? Yes. This is treated like any other pitch. The ball can be batted and if the batter is touched by the bounced pitch, he is awarded first base on a hit by pitch. But a pitch that bounces on…

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.