Rule 5.10

Expert Analysis

July 2023 Rules Question and Answer #2

Topics: Expert Analysis

Play No. 1 QUESTION: Look at this video from a minor league game and tell me why the outfielder did not get credit for a catch after he carried the ball several feet. Instead, the batter was credited with a home run? Click on the link below. ANSWER: This outfielder wasn’t credited with a catch…

Expert Analysis

If a Pitcher Crosses the Foul Line, He Must Pitch to the First Batter

Topics: Expert Analysis, Pitcher, Rules Changes, Rules Controversy

Rule 5.10 (i) reads, “If a pitcher who is already in the game crosses the foul line on his way to take his place on the pitcher’s plate to start an inning, he shall pitch to the first batter until such batter is put out or reaches first base, unless the batter is substituted for,…

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.