St. Louis Cardinals Tag Archive

Blog

Strange Play Special Report: Ball Sticks to Catcher’s Protector

Baseball Fans Bewildered The Chicago Cubs started a 7th inning, three-run rally vs the Cardinals in a most unusual way on April 6, 2017. The Cubs Matt Szczur swung and missed on a pitch in the dirt for strike three. Aware that Cardinals catcher Yadier Molina did not cleanly catch the ball, Szczur headed to […]

Insider Report

Back Runner Draws Throw

Clever base running by the St. Louis Cardinals’ Yadier Molina helped produce a run by gaining time for a preceding runner to score in the Cards 3-1win over the Oakland A’s on Aug. 26 in St. Louis. Here is what happened: In the bottom of the sixth, the Cards had Brandon Moss on third and […]

Insider Report

Rights and Restrictions of the Batter

On April 16, the Reds-Cardinals game ended on an interference call when the Cards’, Aledmys Díaz popped up almost directly above home plate and interfered with Reds’ catcher Devin Mesoraco while he was tracking the ball. Díaz, who remained in the plate area instead of running to first base, was bumped by Mesoraco as the […]

Insider Report

Fielder Falls into Stands after Making Catch

I think most players know that if they make a catch while being airborne and fall into the stands, or any dead ball area, the catch is legal as long as the fielder can show the ball to the umpire. What many players don’t know is if there are less than two outs, runners on […]

Insider Report

Time Plays

Rule 5.08 (a) covers a “Time Play,” which is umpire lingo. The term “Time Play” is not found in the rule book. Generally speaking, when a third out occurs just before or just after a runner crosses the plate and the third out is not the result of a force out or the batter-runner being retired […]

Insider Report

Runner Interference

Among ballplayers, the subject of who has the right of way is an eternal problem in the game of baseball. Simply stated, the runner must initially give way to the fielder whether the fielder is fielding a ground ball or a fly ball. If a runner or batter-runner interferes with, obstructs, impedes, hinders or confuses […]

Insider Report

Extending the Glove

I’m aware of the reasons that a first baseman is in a straddle position when receiving throws from the pitcher or catcher in the bunt area since it gives him greater flexibility. But in my opinion, in late developing plays on the fair side of the runner’s box, the first baseman should make himself long by extending his glove as far as possible into fair territory when receiving throws from the pitcher or catcher from the bunt area for the following reasons:

Insider Report

Fan on Field

The Mariners hosted the St. Louis Cardinals on June 25. In the top of the fifth inning, the Cardinals had runners on first and second and no outs when Mariners’ left fielder Seth Smith made a catch on a fly ball off the bat of Matt Carpenter just as a fan split between him and center fielder Leonys Martin. It was a bizarre sight. Since Smith made the catch, spectator interference was not called.