Video Library(view all)

Blocking the Base

A fielder is not permitted to block a baserunner from going to a base or block the base unless he is making a play on the runner. Sometimes an infielder will drop his knee in front of the base while awaiting a throw, this is a legal play. But if there is no play being made on the runner and the fielder blocks his path to the base, the umpire should call obstruction and award the runner the next base.

Become a Member

Membership unlocks a full video transcript

Coming soon: We're working to bring you related content across this site.