Video Library(view all)

Catcher’s Interference

Catcher’s interference occurs when a batter swings and touches the catcher’s glove. The umpire points and calls, “that’s catcher’s interference.” The ball remains alive and the play develops. If the batter gets a base hit, he gets credit for a base hit. If the batter swings and misses, hits a foul ball or makes an out, the umpire will call time and award the batter 1B on catcher’s interference.

Note: There are circumstances where the manager of the offensive team can decide to take the play instead of the catcher’s interference. If a batter hits a sacrifice fly and plates a run, the manager might prefer that over a catcher’s interference penalty. The umpire is not obligated to inform the manager of the offensive team; he has a choice in this situation.

Become a Member

Membership unlocks a full video transcript

Coming soon: We're working to bring you related content across this site.