McNeil Shift Violation
The Yankees had Anthony Volpe on second and one out with Giancarlo Stanton facing Adam Ottavino with a 0-1 count. McNeil was straddling second base with one foot on the shortstop side to hold the runner. He released totally to the second base side when Ottavino began his delivery. Following the pitch, Miller called a “ball” because he ascertained that McNeil had violated the shift rule in that there must be two infielders on both sides of second base.
- Once the pitcher is in his delivery, the infielder can move. At the time of the start of play, McNeil was on the second base side of the base.
- In my opinion, the automatic “ball” call was not within the spirit of the rule and there was no violation.
- But this is a gray area that MLB needs to review.
- If Stanton had hit Ottavino’s 0-1 pitch, and had a productive at bat, Yankees manager Aaron Boone would have the option of taking the penalty (the “ball” call) or the play such as the option in catcher’s interference plays.
Rules consultant/analyst: Angels, D’backs, Dodgers, Nationals, Orioles, Padres, Phillies, Pirates, Red Sox, Rangers, Royals, Tigers, Twins, White Sox, Yankees, Bally Sports, YES, and NBC Sports Chicago.