9.15 Strikeouts

Advertisement

9.15 Strikeouts


A strikeout is a statistic credited to a pitcher and charged to a batter when the umpire calls three strikes on a batter, as set forth in this Rule 9.15.

(a) The Official Scorer shall score a strikeout whenever a batter:

(1) is put out by a third strike caught by the catcher;

(2) is put out by a third strike not caught when there is a runner on first before two are out;

(3) becomes a runner because a third strike is not caught; or

(4) bunts foul on third strike, unless such bunt on third strike results in a foul fly caught by any fielder, in which case the Official Scorer shall not score a strikeout and shall credit the fielder who catches such foul fly with a putout.

(b) When a batter leaves the game with two strikes against him, and the substitute batter completes a strikeout, the Official Scorer shall charge the strikeout and the time at bat to the first batter. If the substitute batter completes the turn at bat in any other manner, including a base on balls, the Official Scorer shall score the action as having been that of the substitute batter.

March 15, 2020
Was this article helpful?

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.