December 12, 2019

Pitcher Drops Ball

When a pitcher drops the baseball with runners on base it is a balk. But what he if bobbles the ball and is able to catch it before it hits the ground? Is there a circumstance where a pitcher who is in contact with th erubber may drop the ball and it NOT be a balk? Yes, learn the rule with this video.

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.