Arizona Diamondbacks

Expert Analysis

Five Questions about Balks Answered by Rich Marazzi

Topics: Balk, Expert Analysis

When a pitcher balks followed by a throw to a base or a pitch to the batter, or pitches a “Ball Four,” there are many questions that need to be answered. This creates a challenge for the players, coaching staff, manager, and broadcasters. Keep in mind, when a pitcher balks, the ball is not always…

Expert Analysis

MLB Umpires Utilizing Rule 8.02 (c)

Topics: Expert Analysis

The D’backs and Braves played at Truist Park on July 31, 2022.  In the bottom of the second, the Braves had Austin Riley on second and Travis d’Arnaud on first with one out when William Contreras hit a drive to left field. Jake McCarthy, the D’backs’ left fielder, “snared” the ball and carried it a…

Expert Analysis

Boundary Call Overturned and Runners Placed Accordingly

Topics: Placing Runners

The Nationals and D’backs played in Arizona on July 24th. In the top of the seventh, the Nats had Cesar Hernandez on first base and two outs when Josh Bell hit a fly to deep right field. The umpires judged the ball to be a ground rule double and called “Time.” Both runners were awarded…

Expert Analysis

David Ross Ejected for Arguing Double Set (Balk)

Topics: Balk

The Mets and Cubs played at Wrigley on July 14th. In the bottom of the fourth inning the Cubs had Nico Hoerner on first base with two outs when Cubs manager David Ross claimed that Mets pitcher Carlos Carrasco was making a double Set which is a balk. Ross argued with third base ump John…

Expert Analysis

Players Use Detached Equipment to Make Plays

Topics: Equipment

Pitchers Throw Glove Play No. 1 On June 29th the Red Sox and Blue Jays played in Toronto. Boston’s Franchy Cordero led off the top of the third inning facing Alek Manoah. With the infield shifted toward second, the third base area was vacant. Cordero laid down a bunt in the direction of third base….

Expert Analysis

6 Rules Questions Answered by Rich Marazzi

Topics: Expert Analysis, Rules Controversy, Runner Interference

Question #1 – Can Interference Be Unintentional  Q. In the April 30th, Jersey Shore BlueClaws (Phillies) vs Aberdeen IronBirds (Orioles) South Atlantic League game, the following play occurred. Should the batter have been called for interference? Aberdeen had Adley Rutschman on second, Coby Mayo on first with Jacob Teter at bat and less than two outs. Mick Abel was pitching for Jersey Shore…

Expert Analysis

Runner hit by batted ball…..is the runner always out?

Topics: Base Awards, Deflected Ball, Expert Analysis, Placing Runners, Runner Interference, Runners

When a runner is hit by a batted ball, he is not always out. Umpires must assess the situation and apply the proper rule. The most common form of this violation is when a runner is struck by a batted ball in front an infielder and impedes him from making a play.  The runner is…

Expert Analysis

Chase Field- Arizona Diamondbacks

Topics: Ground Rules

https://www.mlb.com/groundrules/venue-15

Expert Analysis

Broadcasters Call Machado Play “Bush League.” But is it Interference?

Topics: Batter, Batter Interference, Batter Runner, Batter's Box, Catcher, Definitions, Interference, Manager Ejection, Runner Interference, Uncategorized

Diamondback Announcers did not hold back on their opinion of Manny Machado and his controversial play in San Diego versus the Padres, Tuesday, April 2, 2019. “It’s such an unnecessary thing, to say the least” Brenly said. “Obviously, it could create a potential injury. You drop a bat next to a guy who’s looking up…

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.