Garrett Cooper

Expert Analysis

MLB Umpires Utilizing Rule 8.02 (c)

Topics: Expert Analysis

The D’backs and Braves played at Truist Park on July 31st.  In the bottom of the second, the Braves had Austin Riley on second and Travis d’Arnaud on first with one out when William Contreras hit a drive to left field. Jake McCarthy, the D’backs’ left fielder, “snared” the ball and carried it a couple…

Expert Analysis

6 Rules Questions Answered by Rich Marazzi

Topics: Expert Analysis, Rules Controversy, Runner Interference

Question #1 – Can Interference Be Unintentional  Q. In the April 30th, Jersey Shore BlueClaws (Phillies) vs Aberdeen IronBirds (Orioles) South Atlantic League game, the following play occurred. Should the batter have been called for interference? Aberdeen had Adley Rutschman on second, Coby Mayo on first with Jacob Teter at bat and less than two outs. Mick Abel was pitching for Jersey Shore…

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.