Batter Attempts to Help Catcher But is Called Out!
Topics: Batter, Batter Interference
Carlos Correa was batting at Minute Maid Park on April 23, 2019, when the Astros hosted the Twins. It was the bottom of the seventh with runners on first and second and two outs when a Tyler Duffy pitch bounced in the dirt. The ball then caromed off catcher Mitch Garver and skipped toward the…
Batter’s Interference: Coaching Tips For Smart Coaches
Topics: Batter Interference, Blog, Rule of the Week
When a batter hinders a catcher making a play, it is basic batter interference. It usually happens that a batter swings at a pitch, misses and then falls into the space of the catcher who is attempting to throw out a runner. The batter is out and the runner(s) are returned to their previous base….