pitching change Tag Archive

Blog

Rule of the Week: Pitching Change

One of the standard rules in all baseball codes is the pitcher named in the starting batting order must pitch to the first batter or any substitute until that batter completes his “at bat” (reaches first base or is put out) (NFHS 3-1-1, NCAA 5-5b, OBR 5.10f). The rule is excepted if the pitcher is […]

Academy Courses

Unannounced Substitutions

If a manager doesn’t notify the plate umpire of an intended substitution, this is referred to as an “unannounced substitution.” There is no specific penalty for an unannounced substitution, but it legally takes effect when the player takes his proper place in the field. This could occur when a player enters the batter’s box, takes […]