runner intent

Expert Analysis

Did Runner Intentionally Interfere to Avert a Double Play?

Topics: Uncategorized

In the top of the second inning in the Yankees-Angels game played on May 29, 2024 the Yankees had Anthony Rizzo on second and Jose Trevino on first and one out when DJ LeMahieu hit a ground ball to the left side of the infield that struck Rizzo. He was called out for runner interference…

Expert Analysis

Batter Runner Intent Steps to Second Base

Topics: Runners

This video covers the rules for when a runner makes an intended step towards second base, which typically occurs after an overthrow to the first baseman. Rich Marazzi Rules consultant/analyst:  Angels, D’backs, Dodgers, Nationals, Orioles, Padres, Phillies, Pirates, Red Sox, Rangers, Royals, Tigers, Twins, White Sox, Yankees, Bally Sports, YES, and NBC Sports Chicago.  

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.