Toronto Blue Jays

Expert Analysis

Backswing Interference

Topics: Expert Analysis

Backswing interference is sometimes called “follow-through” interference. It is covered under rule 6.03 (a) (3) and (4) Comment.  The penalty is not as severe as your traditional or regular batter interference when the batter’s missed swing takes him into the throwing lane of the catcher. When that occurs, the batter is out unless the runner…

Expert Analysis

2022 Rules Questions with Rich Marazzi

Topics: Expert Analysis

Restricted Baseline Running Home Question: When a runner is advancing home and avoiding a tag by a catcher, does the runner have a restricted baseline? Answer: Yes. Whenever a runner is avoiding a tag, or is in a rundown, he has a restricted baseline. It is a straight line to the base he is going to, and…

Expert Analysis

Collisions at Home Plate – Rule 6.01 (i)

Topics: Expert Analysis

Play No. 1 The Blue Jays and Twins met at Target Field on Aug. 7, 2022.  In the top of the tenth, with the score tied 2-2, the Jays had Whit Merrifield on third base and one out when Cavan Biggio hit a fly ball to left fielder Tim Beckham who threw home to catcher…

Expert Analysis

Five Questions about Balks Answered by Rich Marazzi

Topics: Balk, Expert Analysis

When a pitcher balks followed by a throw to a base or a pitch to the batter, or pitches a “Ball Four,” there are many questions that need to be answered. This creates a challenge for the players, coaching staff, manager, and broadcasters. Keep in mind, when a pitcher balks, the ball is not always…

Expert Analysis

Players Use Detached Equipment to Make Plays

Topics: Equipment

Pitchers Throw Glove Play No. 1 On June 29th the Red Sox and Blue Jays played in Toronto. Boston’s Franchy Cordero led off the top of the third inning facing Alek Manoah. With the infield shifted toward second, the third base area was vacant. Cordero laid down a bunt in the direction of third base….

Expert Analysis

Time Plays

Topics: Time Play

Play No. 1 The Blue Jays and Angels played in Anaheim on May 26th. In the bottom of the sixth, the Angels had Matt Duffy on third and Max Stassi on first with one out when Jared Walsh hit a ground ball to Cavan Biggio. The Blue Jays’ first baseman stepped on first to retire…

Expert Analysis

6 Rules Questions Answered by Rich Marazzi

Topics: Expert Analysis, Rules Controversy, Runner Interference

Question #1 – Can Interference Be Unintentional  Q. In the April 30th, Jersey Shore BlueClaws (Phillies) vs Aberdeen IronBirds (Orioles) South Atlantic League game, the following play occurred. Should the batter have been called for interference? Aberdeen had Adley Rutschman on second, Coby Mayo on first with Jacob Teter at bat and less than two outs. Mick Abel was pitching for Jersey Shore…

Expert Analysis

Toronto Manager Trades Out for Run, then A’s Protest Game

Topics: Replay Review, Umpire Manual Rules

It isn’t often that the manager of the offensive team will argue and request a replay challenge for the purpose of adding an out to his team while they are at bat. But thanks to the age of video replay and knowledge of the force out rule, former Toronto manager John Gibbons did that on…

Expert Analysis

Deflected Balls that Remain in Play (Part 3)

Topics: Base Awards, Deflected Ball, Obstruction, Runner Interference, Runners, Uncategorized

Deflected Batted Ball Strikes the Runner  Deflections make for knotty problems since they usually lead to right of way arguments.  Whenever a batted ball is deflected off the pitcher or another infielder into the path of the runner, one of three things can happen: The ball can remain alive and in play The runner can…

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.