December 12, 2019

Umpire Hit by Batted Ball

If an umpire is hit by a batted ball it could mean that the batter is awarded 1B and is credited with a hit. However, there are circumstances where an umpire is hit by a batted ball and the ball remains in play as if nothing happened. Do you know the difference? Chris welsh and Ted Barrett explain the rule and the video tells the story.

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.