Archive

Insider Report

The Dangerous Batter-Runner First Baseman Collision

You might recall in my spring training presentation that I strongly endorsed the idea of having the first baseman (or second baseman) who is taking the throw from the catcher or the pitcher in the bunt area, to take the throw from a stretch position to the fair side of the foul line to avoid […]

Insider Report

Scioscia Protests Batter-Runner Interference Rule

Angels’ manager Mike Scioscia protested the Angels 7-5 loss to the Royals on Wednesday night in Kansas City. The protest that was denied on Thursday centered around rule 5.09 (a) (11), which covers batter-runner interference the last 45-feet between home and first base. The rule reads: A batter is out when in running the last […]

Insider Report

Batter-Runner Interference

Rule 5.09 (a) (11): Retiring the Batter The Mariners and Red Sox played at Safeco Field on August 1, 2016. In the bottom of the sixth, Shawn O’Malley dribbled a ground ball in front of the plate. Sox catcher Sandy Leon threw to first baseman Hanley Ramirez. The throw hit off O’Malley, who advanced to third […]

Insider Report

Assistance from the Dugout

Illegal Assistance from a Coach in the Dugout Coaches and players sitting in the dugout need to be aware of their rights and restrictions when assisting a player who catches and carries a ball into the dugout or an area near the dugout. To prevent a fielder from falling, any player or coach sitting in […]

Insider Report

Twice Out

The Mets beat the Brewers 2-1 in 11 innings on Friday, June 10, 2016 at Miller Park. The Mets scored the winning run in the top of the 11th on a bizarre play that covered multiple rules. Here’s what happened.

Official Rules of Major League Baseball

5.09 (a) (6.05) Retiring the Batter

5.09 (a) (6.05) Retiring the Batter A batter is out when: (1) His fair or foul fly ball (other than a foul tip) is legally caught by a fielder; Rule 5.09(a)(1) Comment (Rule 6.05(a) Comment): A fielder may reach into, but not step into, a dugout to make a catch, and if he holds the ball, […]

Umpire Interpretations of Major League Baseball
(©MLB Umpire Manual)

42. WILLFUL AND DELIBERATE INTERFERENCE

42. WILLFUL AND DELIBERATE INTERFERENCE Rules 6.01(a)(6), 6.01(a)(7), 6.01(a)(5), 5.09(a)(13), 5.09(b)(3), 6.01(j) [former Rules 7.09(f), 7.09(g), 7.09(e), 6.05(m), 7.08(b), 7.14]: Rules 6.01(a)(6) and 6.01(a)(7) [former Rules 7.09(f) and 7.09(g)] were added to the Official Baseball Rules to add an additional penalty when a base runner or a batter-runner deliberately and intentionally interferes with a batted […]

Umpire Interpretations of Major League Baseball
(©MLB Umpire Manual)

26. INFIELDER INTENTIONALLY DROPS FLY BALL OR LINE DRIVE

26. INFIELDER INTENTIONALLY DROPS FLY BALL OR LINE DRIVE Rule 5.09(a)(12) [former Rule 6.05(L)]: Under Official Baseball Rule 5.09(a)(12) [former Rule 6.05(L)], the batter is out, the ball is dead, and runner(s) return to their original base(s) when an infield-er intentionally drops a fair fly ball or line drive with runners on first, first and […]

Umpire Interpretations of Major League Baseball
(©MLB Umpire Manual)

25. THROWN BALL STRIKES HELMET OR BAT

25. THROWN BALL STRIKES HELMET OR BAT Rule 5.09(a)(8) [former Rule 6.05(h)]: If a thrown ball strikes a helmet or bat accidentally (no intent on the part of the runner to interfere) in fair or foul territory, the ball remains in play the same as if it had not hit the helmet or bat. If, […]

Umpire Interpretations of Major League Baseball
(©MLB Umpire Manual)

24. FIELDER GOING INTO OUT-OF-PLAY AREA

24. FIELDER GOING INTO OUT-OF-PLAY AREA Rule 5.09(a)(1) Comment [former Rule 6.05(a) Comment]: The Comment to Official Baseball Rule 5.09(a)(1) [former OBR 6.05(a) Comment] stipulates that no fielder may step into or go into a dugout to make a catch. However, if a fielder, after making a legal catch on the playing surface, steps or […]