Archive

Insider Report

The New Baseline Rule for 2017

Any runner is out when he runs more than three-feet away from his base path to avoid being tagged unless his action is to avoid interference with a fielder fielding a batted ball. A runner’s base path is established when the tag attempt occurs and is a straight line from the runner to the base […]

Insider Report

Baez Baseline

The Giants hosted the Cubs on May 22, 2016. The Cubs’ Javy Baez led off the top of the eighth inning with a slow roller to first baseman Brandon Belt, who fielded the ball and tried to tag Baez and missed. But first base umpire Dana DeMuth called Baez out for running out of the […]

Insider Report

2015 Inciarte Baseline Call

In my opinion, first base umpire Hunter Wendelstedt made a questionable baseline violation call in the top of the fourth inning of the Diamondbacks-Dodgers game at Dodger Stadium on Monday night. Of course, having the advantage of watching the slo-mo replay certainly helped me in formulating my opinion. With two outs and a runner on […]

Insider Report

Baseline Issue: Running from Second to Third

Excluding rundowns, when a runner is attempting to advance from one base to another, he has no restricted baseline until a tag attempt is made. If a runner anticipates an imminent tag attempt, he can legally divert his basepath. He does not need to stay in a direct line to the base. Once the tag attempt is made, the runner has a direct line to the base he is going to and has three feet in either direction of that line. With that in mind, let’s look at the following play that occurred in the May 15, 2016 game between the Mets and Rockies in Colorado.

Official Rules of Major League Baseball

5.09 (b) (7.08) Retiring a Runner

5.09 (b) (7.08) Retiring a Runner Any runner is out when: (1)  He runs more than three feet away from his base path to avoid being tagged unless his action is to avoid interference with a fielder fielding a batted ball. A runner’s base path is established when the tag attempt occurs and is a […]

Umpire Interpretations of Major League Baseball
(©MLB Umpire Manual)

42. WILLFUL AND DELIBERATE INTERFERENCE

42. WILLFUL AND DELIBERATE INTERFERENCE Rules 6.01(a)(6), 6.01(a)(7), 6.01(a)(5), 5.09(a)(13), 5.09(b)(3), 6.01(j) [former Rules 7.09(f), 7.09(g), 7.09(e), 6.05(m), 7.08(b), 7.14]: Rules 6.01(a)(6) and 6.01(a)(7) [former Rules 7.09(f) and 7.09(g)] were added to the Official Baseball Rules to add an additional penalty when a base runner or a batter-runner deliberately and intentionally interferes with a batted […]

Umpire Interpretations of Major League Baseball
(©MLB Umpire Manual)

27. RUNNER MISSES HOME PLATE

27. RUNNER MISSES HOME PLATE Rules 5.09(b)(12), 5.09(c)(2), 5.09(b)(5)[former Rules 7.08(k), 7.10(b), 7.08(d)]: Rule 5.09(b)(12) [former Rule 7.08(k)] states that should a runner, in scoring, fail to touch home plate and continue on the way to the bench (making no effort to return), the runner may be put out by the fielder touching home plate […]

Umpire Interpretations of Major League Baseball
(©MLB Umpire Manual)

9. ABANDONING BASE PATH (INCLUDING AFTER THIRD STRIKE NOT CAUGHT)

9. ABANDONING BASE PATH (INCLUDING AFTER THIRD STRIKE NOT CAUGHT) © MLB Umpire Manual Rules 5.05(a)(2) Comment, 5.09(b)(2) Comment [former Rules 6.09(b) Comment, 7.08(a) & Comment]: Under the Comment to Official Baseball Rule 5.05(a)(2) [former OBR 6.09(b)], a batter who strikes out on a third strike not caught is treated differently than the plays relating to […]

Insider Report

Runners Retouch Base

Just 11 days after Bryce Harper was called out on appeal for failure to retouch second base on his way back to first base, two runners on May 2 were victims of rule 7.10 (b)-Ichiro Suzuki (Marlins) and Anthony Gose (Tigers). In the bottom of the second inning of the Phils-Marlins game in Miami, the […]

Insider Report

Backswing & Batter Interference

Backswing and Batter Interference on Same Swing The Twins hosted the Blue Jays on May 30 when the rarity of backswing interference and true batter interference occurred on the same swing. In the bottom of the fifth, the Twins had Aaron Hicks on first when Eduardo Nunez swung and missed on a 0-1 pitch. On […]