Archive

Insider Report

Pop-up Bunt: Batter Interferes with Catcher

It is imperative for the players to understand the “Right of Way” both offensively and defensively. A thorough understanding of that will prevent many interference and obstruction calls during the season. The Marlins and Pirates met at PNC Park on August 19 when Marlins’ pitcher Tom Koehler was called out for interfering with Pirates’ catcher […]

Insider Report

Catcher Interference

In the top of the first inning, the Royals’ Whit Merrifield attempted to steal second base with Lorenzo Cain at bat. At almost the time of pitcher Josh Tomlin’s release, Indians’ catcher Chris Gimenez jumped up, took off his mask, and stepped on the plate to receive the throw. Gimenez caught the pitch standing on the plate and threw to second, but Whit was safe. Plate umpire Sam Holbrook made no interference call on Gimenez and Cain remained at bat.

The Royals’ staff was concerned about a catcher’s balk and the possibility of catcher’s interference. This is my take.

Official Rules of Major League Baseball

6.01 (c) Catcher Interference

6.01 (c) Catcher Interference (6.08) The batter becomes a runner and is entitled to first base without liability to be put out (provided he advances to and touches first base) when the catcher or any fielder interferes with him. If a play follows the interference, the manager of the offense may advise the plate umpire […]

Insider Report

Catcher’s Interference

In the top of the eighth inning of the June 11 Padres-Braves game, the Padres had the bases loaded with two outs trailing 4-3 when Braves catcher Christian Bethancourt was called for “catcher’s interference” when his mitt came in contact with the bat of the Padres Cory Spangenberg allowing Will Myers to score from third. […]