The Mariners hosted the St. Louis Cardinals on June 25. In the top of the fifth inning, the Cardinals had runners on first and second and no outs when Mariners’ left fielder Seth Smith made a catch on a fly ball off the bat of Matt Carpenter just as a fan split between him and center fielder Leonys Martin. It was a bizarre sight. Since Smith made the catch, spectator interference was not called.
6.01 (e) (3.16) Spectator Interference When there is spectator interference with any thrown or batted ball, the ball shall be dead at the moment of interference and the umpire shall impose such penalties as in his opinion will nullify the act of interference. APPROVED RULING: If spectator interference clearly prevents a fielder from catching a […]
43. SPECTATOR INTERFERENCE Rule 6.01(e) [former Rule 3.16]: The umpire shall call spectator interference by first signaling and calling “Time” (both hands overhead) to halt play and then grasping the left wrist with right hand (held above the head) to indicate spectator interference. When there is intentional interference with a ball in play, either by […]
Rangers’ manager Jeff Banister was ejected on Sunday, April 26, 2016 for arguing a call that had been reversed by instant replay when the Rangers and Angels met in Anaheim. Elvis Andrus, leading off the eighth inning, hit a foul ball down the right-field line that Kole Calhoun chased to the wall but couldn’t catch. […]
When spectator interference occurs, the umpires have the authority to place the batter and the runners at any base they judge would have been made had there been no interference. It’s possible that the umpires will award two bases to one runner while awarding only one base to another runner or the batter. The umpires […]