Archive

Insider Report

Umpire Interference

There are two types of umpire interference: (1) When a field umpire (the second base umpire) is positioned in front of the infielders and is struck by a batted ball that is not deflected off another fielder, and (2) when the plate umpire interferes with the catcher’s throw in an attempt to retire a runner. […]

Insider Report

Assistance from the Dugout

Illegal Assistance from a Coach in the Dugout Coaches and players sitting in the dugout need to be aware of their rights and restrictions when assisting a player who catches and carries a ball into the dugout or an area near the dugout. To prevent a fielder from falling, any player or coach sitting in […]

Official Rules of Major League Baseball

6.01 (f) (5.08) Coach and Umpire Interference

6.01 (f ) (5.08) Coach and Umpire Interference If a thrown ball accidentally touches a base coach, or a pitched or thrown ball touches an umpire, the ball is alive and in play. However, if the coach interferes with a thrown ball, the runner is out. Rule 6.01(f) Comment (Rule 2.00 (Interference)(c)) and Comment): Umpire’s […]