December 12, 2019

Fielder Throws Glove at Batted Ball

When a fielder throws his glove at a batted ball, it is a violation of baseball rule, 5.06(4)(C), the detached equipment rule. There is no penalty if the glove does not make contact with the ball but if the glove makes contact, all runners, including the batter runner are awarded three bases. This video examines the rule and shows several examples of cases where fielders tossed their glove at batted balls. MLB Umpire explains the nuances of this rule in a short, informative video.

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.