December 12, 2019

Thrown Ball Detached Equipment Rule

If a fielder tosses his glove at a thrown ball and it makes contact with the ball, it is a violation of the detached equipment rule. The penalty is two bases awarded to all runners including the batter runner. There are a few other layers to this rule which are explained in this excellent video by Baseball Rules Academy. Once a violation of the throw ball detached equipment rule happens, the ball is NOT dead until the play is over.

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.