Red Sox Tag Archive

Blog

Is this Batter out of the Batter’s Box? Red Sox Manager Thinks So

There is nothing like a 17-inning loss to get a manager’s emotions running hot. When the Red Sox and Twins played a 5-hour 45-minute marathon game, June 17, 2019, Red Sox manager, Alex Cora watched his team walked off by a game winning single by Max Kepler. But earlier in the 17th inning, Cora had […]

Blog

Red Sox Confused about Running Lane Rule

The Mariners and Red Sox played at Safeco on March 29 when this odd double play occurred. The Red Sox had the bases loaded in the top of the eighth inning and one out when Eduardo Nunez hit a slow roller up the first base line that was fielded by pitcher Cory Gearrin, who proceeded […]

Blog

No Infield Fly Rule Call Results in Orioles Triple Play

The Orioles pulled off a strange triple play at the expense of the Red Sox in Boston’s 5-2 win on May 2. With runners on first and second and no outs in the bottom of the eighth, Jackie Bradley Jr. skied a popup behind shortstop. O’s shortstop, J.J. Hardy, called off right fielder Joey Rickard before the ball fell between […]

Blog

First Play or Second Play? Placing Runners is Tricky

According to rule 5.06 (G), when a wild throw by an infielder goes out of play or under a bench, the umpires must distinguish if it’s the “first play” or “second play” by the infielder. Remember, by rule, the fielding of a ground ball, line drive or fly ball is not the “first play.” What […]

Blog

Red Sox Catcher Nabbed for Detached Equipment Rule Violation

You cannot assume your players know even the most basic rules. Take what happened at Fenway Park on May 1, 2018,  when the Red Sox hosted the Royals. In the top of the 10th inning with the score tied 3-3, the Royals had runners on first and second and two outs when Sox catcher Christian […]

Blog

Did the Umpire Misinterpret Backswing Batter Interference?

In my opinion the umpire in the Blue Jays-Angels game on April 24 misinterpreted a backswing interference call that might have affected the outcome of the game in the Blue Jays 2-1 loss. There is a distinction between two types of batter interference covered in rule 6.03 (a) (3) and (4) Comment: For the sake […]

Blog

Benintendi Baseline Call Preserves No-Hitter

The Baseline rule (5.09 (b) (1) played a major role in preserving A’s pitcher Sean Manaea’s no-hitter against the Red Sox on Saturday night. With two outs in the sixth inning, Boston left fielder Andrew Benintendi sent a soft grounder up the first-base line and was ruled safe at first base after first baseman Matt Olson failed to tag […]

Insider Report

Did the Umpire Misinterpret Backswing Batter Interference?

In my opinion the umpire in the Blue Jays-Angels game on April 24, 2017, misinterpreted a backswing interference call that might have affected the outcome of the game in the Blue Jays 2-1 loss.   There is a distinction between two types of batter interference covered in rule 6.03 (a) (3) and (4) Comment: For […]

Insider Report

Austin Jackson’s Amazing Catch and the Catch Rule

Indians’ center fielder Austin Jackson arguably made one of the greatest catches in baseball history, when the Red Sox hosted the Indians on Aug. 1.  I’m sure you have seen this spectacular catch by now. The play occurred in the fifth inning, when Hanley Ramirez drilled a pitch from Indians’ reliever Dan Otero to deep center, where […]

Blog

Indians’ Outfielder Austin Jackson’s Amazing Catch (and why it was legal)

The Red Sox hosted the Indians Tuesday, August 1, 2017 in a game that was highlighted by one of the most spectacular catches ever made by an outfielder at Fenway Park. A standing ovation for a visiting player is tough to come by in Boston, but that’s what Red sox fans did after witnessing Jackson’s […]