Forum Replies Created
First, a runner out at first is not technically a force out.
Second, my first reaction would be to nullify the run, but the fourth out is defined only for appeal plays, that is, if there are 3 outs already and the defense wants to appeal a runner who was not put out, they can and the umpire would recognize this 4th out. The out at first is not an appeal play. Think of this way: The batter runner is running to first and the 3rd out is recorded so he heads back to the dugout — you can’t now get him out since the play was over. You can do this for an appeal, because on an appeal the runner has done something wrong which you are now challenging.According to OBR, seems it would be no interference (see below). The infield fly exception relates to being hit by the ball.
Rule 6.01(a) Penalty for Interference Comment: A runner who
is adjudged to have hindered a fielder who is attempting to make
a play on a batted ball is out whether it was intentional or not.
If, however, the runner has contact with a legally occupied base
when he hinders the fielder, he shall not be called out unless,
in the umpire’s judgment, such hindrance, whether it occurs on
fair or foul territory, is intentional. ICertainly with a batted ball, a catcher who is trying to get to the ball and a runner who is runner to first collide — this is nothing, unless:
- There is intentional contact by either catcher or runner.
- The umpire decides that another fielder is protected to field the ball.
- The time a fielder is called for interference is when he is looking at the ball and not running.
Is a dropped 3rd strike different? The rule talks about a catcher fielding the ball, and does not explicitly say it is only a batted ball. It seems to me to be nothing.Thanks, that helps 🙂
- No, the entire batters box is not in foul territory.
- The little small triangle is in fair territory (if I understand correctly). More precisely, fair/foul territory is defined by fair/foul line and not affected by batter’s box.
- If the ball settles in this area, it is fair.
- If while starting to run to first he hits the ball, I believe he would be safe and the ball foul, as long as the umpire did not think it intentional. The rule is if “his fair ball touches him before touching a fielder” and I would think that if the ball settles on the ground, and he runs into it, this is a foul ball. But I could see others interpreting as interference.