Forum Replies Created
- September 8, 2020 at 10:39 am
- in reply to: Follow through (backswing interference) – Can a runner advance?
Under no circumstance can a runner advance if the batter commits backswing interference.
But there is a VERY MAJOR rule difference between High School/NFHS rule code and the OBR and NCAA rule.
In OBR and NCAA, the runners are simply returned to their bases – no one is called out.
In High School baseball, THE BATTER IS OUT if he commits backswing interference (the NFHS rule book calls it “follow-through interference”). This is in addition to the penalty that all runners return. If the follow-through interference occurs on a third strike, the batter is already out, so the runner on which the play was being attempted would also be ruled out.
One correction: NFHS – strike 3 interference – an umpire CAN be called out but it’s not automatic. Judgement call. Say a runner gets a huge jump and no one goes to cover 2nd base. The runner is not out – he returns to first.
I get where you’re going with this; 7-3-5 Penalty says that if it’s a 3rd strike, the umpire has to judge another out was possible before calling a runner out; 5-1-1e says the ball is dead when there’s interference, and we know all runners return to the base occupied at time of interference. However it seems a pretty narrow set of circumstances that would allow you to call interference, but send the runner back to first. If the retired batter hinders the catcher from making a throw where he had no play in the first place, to me that’s not interference at all. I guess the only sort of situation I can think of is where the runner has the base clearly stolen, no chance for an out, but the catcher decides to throw anyway and then the batter interferes which causes the throw to be airmailed into the outfield and the runner attempts to advance to 3B. You can’t let the runner advance on interference, but the catcher had no play either, so you really can’t call the runner out either. You can’t send him back to 2B because he hadn’t reached 2B at the time of interference and no runners may advance while the ball is dead, so the only choice left is to send him back to 1B.
Both coaches are going to think you’ve screwed them, so be prepared with a really good explanation. You’re really going to have to thread the needle to explain there was no chance of an out, but there was still interference. “look, I only screwed you a little bit, and equally”.first, the given Answer is worded poorly (closing in on “wrong”). the runner is not out when he enters the dugout. once he enters the dugout, he can not return to the field as a live runner in any way. but he’s not out and the run scores unless and until the defense makes a legal appeal. once they do make a legal appeal, the runner is out and the run is erased.
hopefully the defense knows how to make a proper appeal by tagging the plate while appealing verbally that the runner missed the plate, then none of this nonsense happens.
but let’s say that the runner, having entered dead ball territory, now returns to the field in an attempt to touch the plate while the defense is still playing on other runners… if the defense ignores him, fine, play on. but if in so doing he draws a throw that may allow other runners to advance, that’s interference by a retired runner (or interference by a teammate if you prefer that terminology). kill the play and send the other runners back to the bases occupied at time of interference; if a runner was in a rundown, you’re probably calling that runner out for interference by a teammate.
But still, what to do about the appeal? if playing under a live-ball appeal ruleset, if you’ve killed the play because the retired runner is interfering with play, there has still been no legal appeal so the runner is still not out and the run is still on the board. so you’ll have to go through the procedure of making the ball live again with a batter in the box and the pitcher engaged with the rubber, and then see if the defense manages to make the appeal without screwing up.
if it’s a dead-ball appeal ruleset, as soon as you’ve killed the play and anyone on the defense makes clear they’re appealing that the runner missed the plate, he’s out and the run comes off the board, easy-peasy.
but agreed, this whole thing can get messy
it’s up to the defense to know the count, outs, position of runners, etc.
- August 13, 2020 at 10:11 pm
- in reply to: Runner leaves batter’s box on dropped 2nd strike allowing 3rd to score
unless of course the umpire has screwed up the count – if he announced a 1-2 count that was really 1-1 and then this happens, I think he’s going to have to put the runner back on third and eat a couple spoonfulsR3 is out for the interference by the batter, R1 returns to 1B. Batter remains at bat with a strike or ball added to his count as appropriate (a strike if you mean “misses his bunt attempt” in the rulebook sense)