Forum Replies Created
tzemaitis: On the 3-1 move, the pitcher has fully satisfied the feint to third as long as he has stepped towards third and feinted a throw with his arm. As such, he does NOT need to disengage while reversing course and throwing to first base. However, it is important to realize that the pitcher is still engaged with the rubber so the pitcher must throw to first in this case or be subject to a balk since the pitcher is not allowed to feint to first base. If the pitcher does disengage while feinting to third, then the pitcher may feint to first because his status is now that of an infielder.
That is, if he acts as a non-field player, then he should continue to act as well, right?
tzemaitis: The run would count as the appeal of a base left early is a timing play, and not a force out. Since the appeal action occurred after R3 touched home, the run counts.
That’s how! And I thought it wouldn’t count! Thank you!
Stan Dyer: It’s funny that you would bring this up. I had a coach ask me about the very same thing. I concur with your interpretation. Since it is legal by NFHS rules to “feint” to third, it is legal to throw to a fielder who is not in position to make a play. I do not think all states interpret this the same way, and you should check with your home state rules interpreter for clarification.
In our state, the pitcher can, indeed, feint to third, but, if he turns and throws to first, he must disengage first, or it is a balk.
If I were you, I would keep doing it the way I was doing it until someone in a position of authority told me to do it differently. You will get some flack from different coaches, and even some umpires, but, when you are Umpire in Chief, it’s your game, and your call – be consistent, and be confident. Never assume any coach, player, or even another umpire knows the rules better than you do, and never assume you know them well enough not to continue studying.
You gave wise advice not only in terms of rules, but also in terms of learning the rules and trusting yourself.
And I confess that I am surprised at the fact that different states interpret the rules differently.
If a runner tags up then realizes he won’t be able to advance …upon returning to his base the defense makes a play on him. Does the defense have to tag him or just step on the base while in possession of the ball.