October 6, 2022

Hit-By-Pitch Strikeout

Replay review of a batter swinging at a pitch and missing while being hit by the ball

Hit-By-Pitch Strikeout

The Phils and Cubs played at Wrigley on September 28, 2022. Nico Hoerner led off the bottom of the sixth facing Aaron Nola. With a 2-2 count, he swung at a pitch and the ball rolled slowly between home and third. It was fielded by Nola who didn’t have a play.

There was a question whether or not the pitched-ball hit Hoerner’s bat on the swing, or did it hit Hoerner’s hand on the swing? Plate umpire Mike Estabrook did not have a HBP and kept the ball alive.

Phils’ manager Rob Thomson challenged, claiming Hoerner swung at a pitch that hit him in which case he would be out.

The Replay Official determined that Hoerner was hit by the pitch and because he swung, he was out on strike three.

Ruleball Comments

  1. The Replay Official made the proper call.
  2. When a batter swings and misses a pitch and is struck by the pitch, the ball is dead. If the pitch is strike three the batter is out which is what occurred in the above situation.
  3. If a batter is hit by a pitch in the strike zone without swinging, the pitch is called a strike and the ball is dead. If the pitch is strike three, the batter is out.
  4. Rob Thomson made a successful challenge of a play that is difficult for the umpire.
  5. The umpire has to make that call by sound because it is impossible to see.
  6. Thanks to the replay system, the umps were able to correct the call.

 

Rich Marazzi

Rules consultant/analyst:  D’backs, Nationals, Orioles, Padres, Phillies, Pirates, Rays, Red Sox, Rangers, Royals, Tigers, Twins, Yankees, Bally Sports, ESPN, YES, and NBC Sports Chicago. 

Leave a Reply

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.