Ball Going Into Player’s Uniform

Ball Going Into Player’s Uniform

Rules 5.01(b), 5.06(c)(7), 5.06(c)(7) Comment:

If a batted or thrown ball inadvertently goes inside a player or coach’s uniform, lodges in the catcher’s face mask or paraphernalia, or is intentionally placed inside a player’s uniform (e.g., in a pants pocket), the umpire shall call “Time.” The umpire will, using common sense and fair play, place all runners in such a manner that, in the umpire’s judgment, will nullify the action of the ball going out of play. That being said, if the umpire determines that the player placed the ball in his uniform intentionally for the purpose of deceiving a base runner, the umpire will place all runners at least one base (or more if warranted, in the umpire’s judgment in order to nullify the action of the ball being put out of play) from the base they originally occupied. In no case may any outs be recorded on such play. Note that the determination whether a ball lodged in equipment or was placed in a uniform is not subject to Replay Review.

Note that this interpretation does not apply to situations where a batted or thrown ball lodges in a fielder’s glove. In those cases, the ball is alive and in play. A fielder may legally throw the glove with the live ball lodged in the glove. Any fielder in possession of the glove containing the lodged ball is considered in possession of the ball for the purpose of the Rules. For example, a fielder could legally
tag a runner or a base while in possession of the glove containing the lodged ball.

See also Official Playing Rule 5.06(c)(7) Comment (last paragraph).

Was this article helpful?

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.