RUNNER TOUCHED BY INFIELD FLY

Advertisement

RUNNER TOUCHED BY INFIELD FLY

Rule 5.09(b)(7):

Rule 5.09(b)(7) was amended in 2019 to clarify that when a runner is touched by an Infield Fly when he is not in contact with his base and before the ball has gone through, or by, an infielder, and no other infielder has a chance to make a play on the ball, both the runner and the batter are out. However, if the ball is deflected by a fielder prior to touching the runner, the umpire shall not declare the runner out for being touched by a batted ball. See also Official Baseball Rule 5.09(b)(7) (last paragraph).

Was this article helpful?

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.