infield fly

RUNNER TOUCHED BY INFIELD FLY

Rule 5.09(b)(7): Rule 5.09(b)(7) was amended in 2019 to clarify that when a runner is touched by an Infield Fly when he is not in contact with his base and before the ball has gone through, or by, an infielder, and no other infielder has a chance to make a play on the ball, both…

INFIELDER INTENTIONALLY DROPS FLY BALL OR LINE DRIVE

Rule 5.09(a)(12): Under Official Baseball Rule 5.09(a)(12), the batter is out, the ball is dead, and runner(s) return to their original base(s) when an infielder intentionally drops a fair fly ball or line drive with runners on first, first and second, first and third, or bases loaded (with less than two out). Note that the…

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.