August 29, 2020

Runner’s Interference when Runner Takes Throw Off his Head

Cole Calhoun sticks his head out to interfere

Runner’s Interference when Runner Takes Throw Off his Head

 

Comments

Dave Johnson

6.01(a)(10) – intentional interference with a thrown ball. easy call
btw, doesn’t it seem like intentional interference with a thrown ball deserves it’s own rule paragraph, rather than just one phrase in an otherwise unrelated section? Literally every single word of 6.01(a)(10) is about interference with a player fielding a batted ball, except ” or intentionally interferes with a thrown ball,”. Not one other word in 6.01(a)(10) is applicable to a thrown ball situation, and nothing else in 6.01(a)(10) requires any judgment of intent.
wouldn’t it make more sense if there was a 6.01(a)(12) “He intentionally interferes with a thrown ball.”?

dstub

Reminds me of Reggie in the World Series.

Leave a Reply

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.