intentional interference

Rich Marazzi Mailbag June 2020

Q. With the minimum three batter rule scheduled to go into effect this year, if the substitute pitcher comes in the game with one out and gets the next batter to hit into a double play, he does not have to pitch the following inning. But if the manager sends him out for the next…

Broadcasters Call Machado Play “Bush League.” But is it Interference?

Diamondback Announcers did not hold back on their opinion of Manny Machado and his controversial play in San Diego versus the Padres, Tuesday, April 2, 2019. “It’s such an unnecessary thing, to say the least” Brenly said. “Obviously, it could create a potential injury. You drop a bat next to a guy who’s looking up…

Red Sox Confused about Running Lane Rule

The Mariners and Red Sox played at Safeco on March 29 when this odd double play occurred. The Red Sox had the bases loaded in the top of the eighth inning and one out when Eduardo Nunez hit a slow roller up the first base line that was fielded by pitcher Cory Gearrin, who proceeded…

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.