Aaron Hicks

Expert Analysis

“Last Time By” Rule

Topics: Expert Analysis

The Yankees and Rangers played in Texas on October 3, 2022 when the Yankees’ Oswald Peraza was called out on appeal when he failed to touch second base in both directions after Aaron Hicks was retired on a fly to left center field. You can view the play below. You will see the play from…

Expert Analysis

Five Questions about Balks Answered by Rich Marazzi

Topics: Balk, Expert Analysis

When a pitcher balks followed by a throw to a base or a pitch to the batter, or pitches a “Ball Four,” there are many questions that need to be answered. This creates a challenge for the players, coaching staff, manager, and broadcasters. Keep in mind, when a pitcher balks, the ball is not always…

Expert Analysis

Rafael Devers: A Busy Night

Topics: Expert Analysis

The Yankees and Red Sox played at Fenway on July 8th when Boston’s Rafael Devers was involved two plays worthy of attention. In the bottom of the second, Devers was batting with runners on first and third and two outs. Facing Nestor Cortes, he hit a towering fly several feet up the first base line….

Expert Analysis

6 Rules Questions Answered by Rich Marazzi

Topics: Expert Analysis, Rules Controversy, Runner Interference

Question #1 – Can Interference Be Unintentional  Q. In the April 30th, Jersey Shore BlueClaws (Phillies) vs Aberdeen IronBirds (Orioles) South Atlantic League game, the following play occurred. Should the batter have been called for interference? Aberdeen had Adley Rutschman on second, Coby Mayo on first with Jacob Teter at bat and less than two outs. Mick Abel was pitching for Jersey Shore…

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.