Adley Rutschman

Expert Analysis

Baserunner Hit Running to Second Base

Topics: Expert Analysis

The Rays and Orioles played in Baltimore on July 25, 2022. In the bottom of the fifth, the O’s had Adley Rutschman on third and Ryan Mountcastle on first and one out when Anthony Santander hit a ground ball to first baseman Ji-Man Choi. The Rays’ first baseman fired to second in an attempt to…

Expert Analysis

6 Rules Questions Answered by Rich Marazzi

Topics: Expert Analysis, Rules Controversy, Runner Interference

Question #1 – Can Interference Be Unintentional  Q. In the April 30th, Jersey Shore BlueClaws (Phillies) vs Aberdeen IronBirds (Orioles) South Atlantic League game, the following play occurred. Should the batter have been called for interference? Aberdeen had Adley Rutschman on second, Coby Mayo on first with Jacob Teter at bat and less than two outs. Mick Abel was pitching for Jersey Shore…

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.