catchers interference Tag Archive

Blog

What Do You Know? 9 Rules Questions from 2018

1. There’s a runner on first, catcher’s interference is called and the batter safely makes it to first as a result of the play. If the runner on first (after safely reaching second base), makes an attempt for third base during the play and gets thrown out, does the offensive coach have the option to […]

Blog

Catcher’s Interference

On Sunday the Kansas City Royals and Houston Astros played at Minute Maid.  In the bottom of the second, Tony Kemp was batting with the bases loaded and one out when Kemp’s swing made contact with the mitt of Royals’ catcher Drew Butera.  Plate umpire Lance Barrett ruled the ball dead because it was a […]

Blog

11 Rules Questions that Need Answering Now

If a manager wants to challenge multiple situations in the same play, what is the proper way to have the field umpires communicate this to the Command Center?   The manager should tell the field umpires the situations he wants challenged. It should be done in layers at the same time. Does a tag attempt […]

Blog

Red Sox Catcher Nabbed for Detached Equipment Rule Violation

You cannot assume your players know even the most basic rules. Take what happened at Fenway Park on May 1, 2018,  when the Red Sox hosted the Royals. In the top of the 10th inning with the score tied 3-3, the Royals had runners on first and second and two outs when Sox catcher Christian […]

Blog

Rule of the Week: Follow Through Interference

Pro rules have nary a reference to follow through interference. Instead, it is referred to as “back swing” interference. The golfing world knows the difference. Follow through vs. back swing The follow through is the continuing movement of the bat after the ball is struck or missed – the completion of the swinging motion. The […]

Video Library

Catcher’s Interference

Catcher’s interference occurs when a batter swings and touches the catcher’s glove. The umpire points and calls, “that’s catcher’s interference.” The ball remains alive and the play develops. If the batter gets a base hit, he gets credit for a base hit. If the batter swings and misses, hits a foul ball or makes an out, the umpire will call time and award the batter 1B on catcher’s interference.

Note: There are circumstances where the manager of the offensive team can decide to take the play instead of the catcher’s interference. If a batter hits a sacrifice fly and plates a run, the manager might prefer that over a catcher’s interference penalty. The umpire is not obligated to inform the manager of the offensive team; he has a choice in this situation.

Academy Courses

Defensive Interference (Catcher’s Interference)

While the vast majority of interference infractions are committed by the offense team (batter, runner), there is a common way for a defensive player to be charged with interference. It is commonly called catcher’s interference. Catcher’s Interference The defensive interference rule specifies that a fielder may not hinder or prevent a batter from hitting a […]