catchers interference

Expert Analysis

Catcher’s Interference

Topics: Catcher Interference, Video - Interference
This is a video post.
Expert Analysis

What Do You Know? 9 Rules Questions from 2018

Topics: Base, Batter's Box, Catcher Interference, Dead Ball Area, Fair Territory, Foul Territory, Infield Fly, Pinch Hitter, Pitcher, Pitcher Pick-offs, Runner Interference, Uncategorized

1. There’s a runner on first, catcher’s interference is called and the batter safely makes it to first as a result of the play. If the runner on first (after safely reaching second base), makes an attempt for third base during the play and gets thrown out, does the offensive coach have the option to…

Expert Analysis

Catcher’s Interference

Topics: Batted Ball, Batter, Batter's Box, Blog, Catcher, Catcher Interference, Dead Ball Area, Definitions, Equipment, Expert Analysis, Fair Territory, Fielding, Interference, Latest News, Manager, Obstruction, Official Baseball Rules, Rule of the Week, Rules Controversy, Umpire

On Sunday the Kansas City Royals and Houston Astros played at Minute Maid.  In the bottom of the second, Tony Kemp was batting with the bases loaded and one out when Kemp’s swing made contact with the mitt of Royals’ catcher Drew Butera.  Plate umpire Lance Barrett ruled the ball dead because it was a…

Expert Analysis

11 Rules Questions that Need Answering Now

Topics: Balk, Batter, Catcher, Catcher Interference, Definitions, Expert Analysis, Home Plate Collision, Interference, Latest News, Obstruction, Official Baseball Rules, Pitcher, Pitcher Pick-offs, Rules Controversy, Runner Interference, Runners, Substitutions

If a manager wants to challenge multiple situations in the same play, what is the proper way to have the field umpires communicate this to the Command Center?   The manager should tell the field umpires the situations he wants challenged. It should be done in layers at the same time. Does a tag attempt…

Expert Analysis

Red Sox Catcher Nabbed for Detached Equipment Rule Violation

Topics: Balk, Base Awards, Batter's Box, Catcher, Catcher Interference, Equipment, Latest News, Official Baseball Rules

You cannot assume your players know even the most basic rules. Take what happened at Fenway Park on May 1, 2018,  when the Red Sox hosted the Royals. In the top of the 10th inning with the score tied 3-3, the Royals had runners on first and second and two outs when Sox catcher Christian…

Expert Analysis

Follow Through Interference

Topics: Batter, Batter Interference, Blog, Interference, NCAA, NFHS

Pro rules have nary a reference to follow through interference. Instead, it is referred to as “back swing” interference. The golfing world knows the difference. Follow through vs. back swing The follow through is the continuing movement of the bat after the ball is struck or missed – the completion of the swinging motion. The…

  • 1
  • 2

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.