continuous action appeal

Expert Analysis

“Last Time By” Rule

Topics: Expert Analysis

The Yankees and Rangers played in Texas on October 3, 2022 when the Yankees’ Oswald Peraza was called out on appeal when he failed to touch second base in both directions after Aaron Hicks was retired on a fly to left center field. You can view the play below. You will see the play from…

Expert Analysis

Runner Fails to Retouch Base

Topics: Expert Analysis

The Yankees and Red Sox played at Fenway on September 13, 2022. In the top of the second, the Yankees had Oswaldo Cabrera on first base and one out when Miguel Andújar, facing Nick Pivetta, hit a fly ball to Alex Verdugo in right field. Cabrera, who was off with the pitch, went beyond second…

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.