David Ortiz Tag Archive

Blog

Did the Umpire Misinterpret Backswing Batter Interference?

In my opinion the umpire in the Blue Jays-Angels game on April 24 misinterpreted a backswing interference call that might have affected the outcome of the game in the Blue Jays 2-1 loss. There is a distinction between two types of batter interference covered in rule 6.03 (a) (3) and (4) Comment: For the sake […]

Insider Report

Did the Umpire Misinterpret Backswing Batter Interference?

In my opinion the umpire in the Blue Jays-Angels game on April 24, 2017, misinterpreted a backswing interference call that might have affected the outcome of the game in the Blue Jays 2-1 loss.   There is a distinction between two types of batter interference covered in rule 6.03 (a) (3) and (4) Comment: For […]

Insider Report

Interpretations of the DH Rule

Athletics third baseman Danny Valencia had to leave the April 20, 2016 game against the Yankees in the fourth inning due to a strained hamstring, which left the A’s in a bit of a pickle because A’s manager Bob Melvin did not want to play first baseman Mark Canha at third base. So Melvin opted […]

Insider Report

Avoiding a Tag by Falling to the Ground

When possible, a runner should never avoid a tag by going laterally (horizontally) to his right or left. By doing so, he is restricting himself to the 3-foot baseline rule. When possible it’s best to fall to the ground or backpedal when avoiding a tag. This buys time for all runners, including himself. Let’s see […]

Insider Report

Batter Interferes with Catcher on Backswing

The Red Sox and Rays played at Tropicana Field on August 23, 2016. David Ortiz was batting in the top of the eighth inning with one out and Xander Bogaerts on first base. With Bogaerts attempting to steal second, Ortiz swung and missed a 2-2 Brad Boxberger pitch. Ortiz’ bat came around and struck catcher […]