Dayton Dragons

Advertisement
Expert Analysis

July 2023 Rules Question and Answer #2

Topics: Expert Analysis

Play No. 1 QUESTION: Look at this video from a minor league game and tell me why the outfielder did not get credit for a catch after he carried the ball several feet. Instead, the batter was credited with a home run? Click on the link below. ANSWER: This outfielder wasn’t credited with a catch…

Expert Analysis

Deflected Balls that Remain in Play (Part 3)

Topics: Base Awards, Deflected Ball, Obstruction, Runner Interference, Runners, Uncategorized

Deflected Batted Ball Strikes the Runner ¬†Deflections make for knotty problems since they usually lead to right of way arguments.¬† Whenever a batted ball is deflected off the pitcher or another infielder into the path of the runner, one of three things can happen: The ball can remain alive and in play The runner can…

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.